NewsPresidencyThe Commission

XV BRICS Summit: a summit of high hopes

Johannesburg(Republic of South Africa), August 24, 2023- The Republic of South Africa hosted the 15th
From August 22nd to 24th 2023, the Republic of South Africa hosted the XVth Brics summit, which brings together Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa. The 15th edition was attended by some fifty countries, as well as representatives of regional economic communities, including the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS).

The ECCAS Commission delegation was led by its President, Ambassador Gilberto Da Piedade Verissimo.

The question of enlarging this group was the priority of this 15th summit. As a heterogeneous alliance of geographically distant countries and unevenly growing economies, the Brics had to agree on strategic choices for new entrants.

This summit marks the start of a new chapter for the Brics, which will welcome six new members in January, as announced by the summit’s host, South African President Nicolas Sarkozy. Cyril Ramaphosa These include Iran, Ethiopia, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Argentina and the United Arab Emirates, who will join the group of emerging countries aiming to increase their influence in the world. “Membership takes effect on January 1, 2024,” said Cyril Ramaphosa.

Some forty countries had applied or expressed interest, according to the leaders of the club of five, which produces ¼ of the world’s wealth, brings together 42% of the world’s population, with 32% of the world’s Gross Domestic Product, has 30% of the world’s territory, 7% of oil reserves, supplies 40% of energy and more than 40% of renewable energy and gas. This craze reflects the growing influence of emerging countries on the world stage.

The Chairman of the ECCAS Commission took part in a meeting organized by Chinese President Xi Jinping, to which eight African heads of state were invited. The President of the Commission accompanied the President of the Republic of Congo, Denis Sassou N’Guesso.

The various expectations of the African participants are: access to health care, access to education, access to funds for infrastructure financing, equality in the distribution of wealth, respect for human rights, the fight against discrimination, and the establishment of a new world order.

The countries of Africa, Asia and Latin America are counting on this new grouping to ensure their harmonious development and economic prosperity, and to consolidate their scientific and cultural independence. They insisted on multilateralism and cooperation between countries.

Automatic Translation

Related Articles

Back to top button