Peace and prosperity for the peoples of Central Africa

Economic Community of Central African States

Presentation | News | Structure | Library | Member Countries | Time Line | Our partners | In detail | Press and Promotion | Contact | Intranet

Member Countries
Time Line
Our Partners
In detail
Press and promotion
The Heads of State and Government of ECCAS


ECCAS at the service of the peoples of Central Africa 

The Economic Community of Central African States -CEEAC- mobilizes all its resources and energy to make Central Africa a region of peace, prosperity and solidarity based on a unified economic and political space where each citizen moves freely in order to ‘thus ensures sustainable and balanced development.


The ECCAS Commission, for its part, covers all the activities of public institutions, private companies, civil society and the populations of the region in an integrative dynamic perspective based on five pillars: peace and security; common market; environment and natural resources; land use planning and infrastructure; gender and human development.


Thus, economic growth, social well-being and preservation of nature are being built through the regional integration that ECCAS is developing among its eleven member countries.


Preserving peace and collective security is indeed a strong focus of the Commission’s missions in a hostile environment combining terrorism, organized crime and religious radicalism against which ECCAS and its partners have structured an early warning mechanism, multinational force and protocol. ‘action.


The protection and enhancement of the environment is also a priority for ECCAS to protect flora and fauna against looting and trafficking and ensure sustainable income through their sustainable exploitation and the promotion of ecological tourism for the benefit of local populations.


In order to carry out its multiple missions, the ECCAS Commission is financed by its member countries and simultaneously carries out several programs in collaboration with international partners.

The framework of ECCAS activities is defined by the Conference of Heads of State and Government of member countries while the programs are established by the Council of Ministers according to each specific sector. As such, ECCAS is recognized by the deliberative organs of the African Union – AU -, as the reference framework for the achievement of the missions and objectives of the Abuja Treaty and NEPAD in the Central African area.

Created in October 1983, ECCAS acquired the status of Commission in December 2019 in order to implement its activities with greater efficiency in the face of the challenges of the region and thus meet the hopes of a very young population who see the success of its future in regional integration.

Read more

The ECCAS Commission


Our partners 

ECCAS implements numerous programs in the areas of peace and security, transport, energy, environment and climate change, trade, agriculture and food security.

Discover the programs in detail below. Several technical and financial partners are supporting ECCAS in carrying out these programs, which include multilateral development aid institutions and governments providing bilateral support.

In detail: programs, structure, reform and more 

Find in detail in this section the information related to the activities, structure and functioning of ECCAS. Do you have any other questions ? Do not hesitate to contact us through the contact form. Are you a journalist? Visit the Press section below.

ECCAS pays great attention to keeping the press informed of its activities and programs. Our Press and Communication department is at your disposal: contacts, questions, interview, press releases and press conferences, it’s here.

Are you a partner of ECCAS and / or you collaborate with our programs and activities,? This section provides you with promotional tools.